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Lawton Public Library 
LIBRARY CARD POLICY 

 
Borrowing Privileges  
A Lawton Public Library card is necessary to borrow library materials. Individuals may apply for a 
card at either the Main Library or the Branch. Library cards are linked together by household 
address. All household members are restricted from checking out items, accessing databases, and 
using computers when items are overdue or there are fees. In the event that a person applies for a 
library card and there are fines associated with that address, applicant may be denied.  
 
All application information must be completed before a card can be issued. Additionally, those 
individuals whose permanent address is not in Comanche County are required to furnish their 
permanent address. PO boxes require proof of physical address.  
 
Application Requirements  
An applicant is required to verify: 

• proof of identity with a government issued photo ID and  

• proof of residency  
A current driver’s license will suffice for both proof of identity and residency if valid.  
 

• Other acceptable ways to prove residency include current (within the last 30 days): 

• Mortgage payment coupon, rent receipt, or lease agreement 

• Utility bill  

• Bank statement 

• Payroll check with printed address 

• Printed check 

• Letter received by mail 

• Proof of employment 

• Current year tax receipt 
 
Adult Card 
To qualify for a free adult library card, individuals must live, work, own a business, go to school or 
pay property taxes in Comanche County.  

• Non-residents employed in Comanche County must provide proof of employment dated 
within the past 60 days.  

• Non-residents who pay taxes on real property located within Comanche County must 
provide a current tax receipt.  

• Students must supply a current class schedule. 

• Individuals in transitional housing such as treatment centers or shelters are not eligible for 
adult cards.  

Ages: 18+; 40 Item Limit; Renewed Yearly 
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Child Card 
To qualify for a free child card, the parent or guardian must have an adult library card. The 
responsible party must sign for a child library card as the guarantor. Guarantors will furnish required 
information; accept the responsibility for the return of library materials; and pay any fees that may 
be assessed. In the event a parent or legal guardian has outstanding fees, payment must be received 
before a child library card is issued. The parent or guardian is responsible for any online usage. Ages: 
4-17; 40 Item Limit; Renewed Yearly 
 
Digital Card 
A digital card will be issued to students via participating local schools for digital items ONLY. If 
individuals wish to change their status to check out physical items, they will be required to meet 
regular library application requirements. The parent or guardian is responsible for any online usage.  
Ages: School Age; 0 Item Limit: Renewal Varies. 
 
Oklahoma Library Card  
A resident of Oklahoma outside of Comanche County desiring to use the Lawton Public Library 
resources on a continuing basis must pay a fee of $28.75* annually. Ages: 18+; 40 Item Limit; Renewed 
Yearly 
 
Non-Resident Card  
A non-Oklahoma resident desiring to use the Lawton Public Library resources on a continuing basis 
must pay a non-resident fee of $115.00* annually or $28.75 per quarter. Ages: 18+; 40 Item Limit; 
Renewed Quarterly or Yearly 
 
Welcome Card 
An individual who can verify their name with valid photo identification may have full access to 
computers and online resources, and may borrow 1 physical item at a time. Ages: 16+; 1 Item Limit; 
Renewed Quarterly 
 
Organizational Card 
A business, school, or organization with a mailing address in Comanche County can apply to check 
out on an organizational card upon library approval. The organization assumes responsibility for all 
fees incurred. Ages: 18+; 40 Item Limit; Renewed Yearly 
 
Computer Use Card 
An individual only wanting to use the library computers can get an internet card with valid photo 
identification. The Library does not accept responsibility for minors. Ages: 8+; 0 Item Limit; Renewed 
Every 5 Years 
 
Replacement Card 
Replacement of library cards cost $2.50*. 
 
*Fees are set by City Council. 
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